Tuesday, May 19, 2015

KJZZ Hosts SPOT 127 Celebration Dinner

SPOT 127 Students and parents pose with
KJZZ Associate General Manager of News Mark Moran
KJZZ, in partnership with Carstens Family Funds, SRP and Pita Jungle, hosted the 2015 SPOT 127 Celebration Dinner featuring the National Korva Coleman Excellence Awards at the SRP Pera Club in Tempe May 7th.

Emceed by Friends of Public Radio Arizona Board Member John McDonald, the evening served as an opportunity to celebrate the accomplishments of SPOT 127 students and honor the work being done by youth in digital media.

SPOT 127 Celebration Dinner Buffet donated by Pita Jungle
Guests to this invitation-only event were treated to a Pita Jungle dinner buffet and reception music by electric string quartet Urban Electra.  Kicking off the evening, SPOT 127 students were recognized for their audio coverage of the 2015 Avnet Tech Games.

SPOT 127 stuents take a moment to enjoy
being in front of the camera instead of behind it. 
Following the Avnet presentation, NPR Newscaster and Phoenix native Korva Coleman took the stage to present the 2015 National Korva Coleman Excellence Awards. Having grown up in Maryvale, Coleman is a strong advocate of the SPOT 127 mission and serves as a role model to Arizona students pursuing a career in journalism. The national awards bearing her name recognize excellence in online print, audio and video news production and include a $1,000 scholarship.

Highlights of the evening include the surprise presentation of the Carl Matthusen Leadership Award and Scholarship to SPOT 127 student BrieAnna Frank following an on stage interview with KJZZ Host Mark Brodie and a variety of multimedia segments demonstrating the impact of SPOT 127 and the successes of its students.

Additional photos of the SPOT 127 Celebration Dinner are available on the KJZZ Facebook page.

Monday, May 18, 2015

2015 Korva Coleman Excellence Award Winners

2015 National Korva Coleman Excellence Award winners
(L-R) Shelby Mann, Ann Kane, Luke Rafferty
KJZZ and SPOT 127 Youth Media Center would like to congratulate the 2015 National Korva Coleman Excellence Award winners:

Online Print
Five Sex Offenders Living Illegally Next to Columbia Schools
Shelby Mann, University of Missouri
Shelby is a Walter Williams Scholar studying convergence journalism and political science with a minor in information technology. Project Collaborators: Lauren Slome, Bell Johnson. (View online story)

Audio Production
Japanese-Brazilian School Counselor
Ann Kane, University of Washington
Ann got her start at RadioActive, KOUW's youth media training program. She is a recent graduate of the University of Washington pursuing a career in journalism with a focus on issues related to migration. (Listen to audio)

Video Production
Elementary Principal Fighting To Fund His Public School
Luke Rafferty, Syracuse University
Originally from Philadelphia, Pa, Rafferty has been shooting photos since he could walk. Rafferty began producing videos in high school, and has continued to develop his skills throughout university. (Watch video)

The National Korva Coleman Excellence Awards were established in 2013 in honor of Arizona native and NPR newscaster Korva Coleman. In keeping with the SPOT 127 mission to cultivate new voices, the Korva Coleman Excellence Awards honor young people aged 14 - 23 around the country for excellence in digital media production. Winners were recognized at the SPOT 127 Dinner Celebration held May 7 at the Pera Club in Tempe. 


About KJZZ
KJZZ 91.5 FM is a listener supported public radio station broadcasting to the Phoenix metro area. The station features a commercial-free mix of local, national and world news, entertaining weekend shows and classic jazz. 

About SPOT 127 
SPOT 127 Youth Media Center offers a comprehensive after school program, an abbreviated in school program and a digital immersion summer boot camp empowering high school students with skills in all forms of digital media production.